Collin County Criminal District Attorney Website
Greg Willis, Criminal District Attorney of Collin Countyemail this page print this page increase font size decrease font size home

Investigations Division

The Investigations Division of the Collin County Criminal District Attorney’s Office is staffed by twenty-four criminal investigators, two of whom are also supervisors.  Each investigator is experienced and commissioned as a peace officer within the State of Texas.  Many have been trained in specific job-related specialties such as fingerprint comparison, handwriting analysis, computer forensics, and fraud detection.  Many are licensed instructors in law enforcement subjects such as firearms, investigation procedures, management, and supervision.

The criminal investigators are assigned to a trial team or specialized division within the District Attorney’s Office.  An investigator’s primary duty is to support his or her designated trial team or specialized division in the prosecution of criminal cases.  Some investigators also help local business owners and other individuals recover financial losses from the passing of fraudulent checks.  On a daily basis, the investigators work with representatives from local, state, and federal law enforcement agencies to fight crime and protect the citizens of Collin County.

Mike Smith, Chief Investigator, began his law enforcement career in 1980 as a deputy sheriff for the Smith County Sheriff's Office in Tyler, Texas. He worked as a deputy sheriff while majoring in criminal justice at Tyler Junior College. In 1982, he joined the Texas Department of Public Safety and after completion of the training academy was assigned to Collin County as a Texas Highway Patrol Trooper. While employed by the Texas Department of Public Safety, Chief Smith served as a trooper in the Highway Patrol Service and the Commercial Vehicle Enforcement Service and as an investigator in the Regulatory Crimes Bureau. Chief Smith served his last six years performing administrative and criminal investigations for the Texas Department of Public Safety, where he was responsible for six counties in North Texas. After twenty-nine years of service with DPS, Chief Smith retired in order to accept his current position with the Collin County Criminal District Attorney's Office as Chief Investigator.

Mike Smith - Ext. 4416;

Matt Langan, Deputy Chief Investigator, graduated from Southern Methodist University in 1993 with his Bachelor of Arts in Psychology. From 1998 to 2001, Deputy Chief Langan was employed by the U.S. Department of Justice, Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA), and worked as a Special Agent in the Washington, D.C. and Detroit, Michigan field divisions. He left the DEA in 2001 to accept a position as a Sgt. Investigator in the Public Integrity Unit (PIU) of the Travis County District Attorney's Office. In 2004, he was promoted to Lt. Investigator, where his responsibilities included supervising the Sgt. Investigators assigned to the General Investigations, Insurance Fraud, and Motor Fuels Tax Fraud Sections of the PIU. Deputy Chief Langan left the Travis County District Attorney's Office at the end of 2010 to accept a position as Deputy Chief Investigator with the Collin County Criminal District Attorney's Office, where his responsibilities include supervising the twenty-two investigators assigned throughout the Office.

Matt Langan - Ext. 4343;

Collin County Criminal District Attorney Investigators

Below is an alphabetical list of current District Attorney Investigators and their assignments and telephone extension numbers.  For more information, go to the organizational chart or to the division which they are assigned.

Mike Bennett 401st District Court 4371
Gregory Bowers Crimes Against Children Divison 3635
Bobby Chacon Family Justice - Juvenile 4288
Jared Clark County Court at Law No. 6 3618
Dale Dowdy 219th District Court 3626
Steve Goodman Special Prosecution Division 3616
Ryan Harvey County Court at Law No. 1 3617
Keith Henslee 366th District Court 4289
Robert Hinton County Court at Law No. 4 3619
Jon Hooper Domestic Violence and Protective Orders 4387
Matt Langan Deputy Chief Investigator 4343
Robin Laughon 296th District Court 3631
Matt Mayes Hot Check Division 4375
Ray McCommas 380th District Court 3646
Kenneth Moore 416th District Court 4295
Rodney Neal 199th District Court 4346
Kenny Newton Crimes Against Children Division 4327
Samantha Selman-Carrell County Court at Law No. 5 4348
Mike Owens County Court at Law No. 3 3694
Kim Pickrell Family Justice - Child/Adult Protection 4359
Chad Smith Family Justice - Child/Adult Protection 4794
Mike Smith Chief Investigator 4416
Stephanie Strickland County Court at Law No. 2 3614


large font print page email page